Reload Animations and No Fire Through Friendly Units.

Discussion in 'Modding' started by Ftoomsh, Jan 14, 2020.

1. Ftoomsh

Ftoomsh Well-Known Member

Has anybody done any work on reload animations for muskets? I am not an artist or animator so I am just wondering if anyone is trying such things. Also wonderful would be a kneeling front rank.

I believe my 3 rank firing system (in OCMOD4) would work well with such graphics. As I have said before, I achieve 3 rank fire by lifting friendonline musket-shot (ray) detection in the y-axis just enough that 3 ranks and no more can fire at a target at full range. The smoke puff is not lifted. The system is pretty accurate. Deeper ranks on rising ground (forward slopes) also get to fire. It looks quite realistic except for lack of animations and one technical flaw.

My system adjusts for the unit-box heights of infantry muskets and cavalry drags. It does not adjust for enemy units coming closer. The declension of the ray leads to a greater angle so the second rank and then the third rank do not fire subsequent volleys as the enemy closes in (which melee units do). This is a flaw but in most engagements the flaw is not noticed in the heat of battle when the lines become ragged (which in turn they do unless on stand ground).

Theoretically, I could adjust for this flaw by modifying the y-axis lift compared to the range. It's just geometry I guess but I have forgotten most of my high school geometry. I'll see if I can get my mathematician son to give me the required formula.

If I could add this tweak and then re-introduce General WVPM's range damage system to increase head-shots and/or damage at closer ranges, then I would have a pretty good fire system I think. But without the reload and kneel animations it would never be complete.